84.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomeNewsLocal sportsVI Cycling Names Season Champs, Completes Season

VI Cycling Names Season Champs, Completes Season

Elite cyclist Mark Defour at the start of the 24-mile time trial race (photo by Michelle Dizon)

The Virgin Islands Cycling Federation wrapped up its competitive season this past weekend on St. Croix. The 2019 Individual Time Trial Championship was held on Saturday morning on the 6-mile airport loop while the 2019 Road Race Championship started on the South Shore Road on Sunday morning.

The Time Trial Championship:
Elite rider Mark Defour bounced back nicely from a rear wheel issue at the start of the race and then a bike exchange on the third lap after his seat post broke. His final time for 24 miles was 1:09:07. Kasey Canton’s new-brand tire was damaged when he hit a reflector on the road, which caused him to abandon the race. As a result, Mario Peters became the lone cyclist in the Expert category, and he posted the second fastest lap split of the day. His winning time for 12 miles was 34:14. Sport rider Elvor Narciss rode well and won his category in 35:37. Catherine Sequin was the first female and third overall for the 12-mile distance. Her time was 36:55.

Jerry Remie, on the third lap of the airport loop in the VI Time Trial Championship (photo by Michelle Dizon)

The Road Race Championship:
The weather was questionable on Sunday morning but the skies were clear at the start. After the morning rain, the blazing sun made for a steamy Championship course, which started at the former Café Kaleidoscope on the South Shore Road. As the Elite riders took off for their challenging 50-mile course, spectators wondered how the race would play out between Saturday’s Time Trial Champ and 15-year-old Mikey Dizon-Bumann. As the group passed through on their first lap, David Parris had already pulled out of the race and Jerry Remie was significantly off the back. It was reported that, by mile 40, Dizon-Bumann had distanced himself from the rest, putting him over 7 minutes ahead of second place at the finish line. His gold finish clocked in at 2:38:00. Mark Defour was second in 2:45:13; Alex Betancourt was third in 2:45:14.

The Expert race included the big loop around the east end and a smaller loop through Tipperary. There was a bit of jockeying for positions throughout the 40-mile course, but Mario Peters proved to be the most powerful as he crossed the finish line nearly 3 minutes ahead of second place finisher, Kasey Canton. Mario’s time was 2:18:42. Miguel Cruz and John Harper worked together for a bit on the second lap until Harper relinquished the pace. Miguel was third in a time of 2:21:48.

Cyclists post race (photo by Michelle Dizon)

The Sport and Women categories were sent off together for the 30-mile race, which included two small loops. The women demonstrated their true strength as Catherine Sequin finished in first place overall (1:40:41) and Esther Ellis in second place overall (1:42:04). Laverne Fredericksen rounded out the Women’s category in third place. Angela Cherkis abandoned the race when her new cycling shoe delaminated during the race.

There was an exciting sprint finish for first place in the Sport category, with Olani Vanterpool claiming the gold over Elvor Narciss in a time of 1:44:45. With mud stuck in his cleat for the entire race, James Meyers was third in 1:59:24.

Virgin Islands Cycling Federation 2019 Individual Time Trial Championship
Saturday, September 14, 2019; Course: Airport Loop

Elite 24 miles TOTAL TIME 1 2 3 4
1 Mark Defour 1:09:07 0:16:17 0:16:36 0:18:01 0:18:13
2 David Morales 1:11:21 0:17:10 0:17:45 0:18:17 0:18:09
3 Jerry Remie 1:12:58 0:17:06 0:18:05 0:18:34 0:19:13
Alex Betancourt DNF 0:17:13 0:18:06

Expert 12 miles TOTAL TIME/ 1/ 2
1 Mario Peters 0:34:14/ 0:16:32/ 0:17:42
Kasey Canton DNF

Sport 12 miles TOTAL TIME/ 1 2
1 Elvor Narciss 0:35:37/ 0:18:03/ 0:17:34
2 James Meyers 0:37:09 0:18:31 0:18:38
3 Olani Vanterpool 0:37:40 0:18:37 0:19:03
4 Hubert Abraham 0:44:16 0:21:09 0:23:07

Women 12 miles TOTAL TIME 1 2
1 Catherine Sequin 0:36:55 0:18:24 0:18:31
2 Laverne Fredericksen 0:39:45 0:19:53 0:19:52


Top three Elite finishers in the Road Race Championships (L to R): – Mark Defour, Mikey Dizon-Bumann, Alex Betancourt (photo by Michelle Dizon)

Virgin Islands Cycling Federation; 2019 VI Road Race Championship
Sunday, September 15, 2019; Start/finish: Café Kaleidoscope
Elite: 50 miles
1. Mikey Dizon-Bumann 2:38:00
2. Mark Defour 2:45:13
3. Alex Betancourt 2:45:14
4. Joey Swanson 2:45:14
5. David Morales 2:52:50
6. Jerry Remie 3:10:46
David Parris DNF
Expert: 40 miles
1. Mario Peters 2:18:42
2. Kasey Canton 2:21:35
3. Miguel Cruz 2:21:48
4. John Harper 2:24:33
Sport: 30 miles
1. Olani Vanterpool 1:44:45
2. Elvor Narciss 1:44:46
3. James Meyers 1:59:24
4. Yves Abraham 2:06:59
5. Kevin Moran 2:18:53
Fred Flint DNF
Hubert Abraham DNF
Women: 30 miles
1. Catherine Sequin 1:40:41
2. Esther Ellis 1:42:04
3. Laverne Fredericksen 1:57:34
Angela Cherkis DNF

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.