This Week’s Senate Calendar

32nd Senate Calendar Legislature of the Virgin Islands for October 23

Monday, October 23

No committee meetings will be held today.

Tuesday, October 24

Advertising (skip)

10 a.m.

Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety

Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas


The committee has scheduled a meeting to receive updates from officials representing the Virgin Islands Police Department and the Department of Justice relative to crime, community-wide initiatives, and other pertinent issues and solutions regarding the territory-wide crime conundrum.

The committee will also receive updates from the Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Management Agency (VITEMA), Bureau of Information Technology, and the Virgin Islands National Guard relative to their response and preparedness to both Category 5 hurricanes that severely impacted our islands. Moreover, they will provide a summary on areas of concerns that if implemented, can streamline the process for potential future disasters. They will also discuss their agencies current role on the restoration of our territory

Invited Testifiers:

Block I

10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Richards, commissioner of VIPD                     

Honorable Claude E. Walker, Esq., attorney general, Department of Justice

Block II

1:45 p.m.–5 p.m.

Mona Barnes, director, V.I. Territorial Emergency Management Agency Gen. Deborah Howell, adjutant general, Virgin Islands National Guard

Angelo Riddick, director, Bureau of Information and Technology              

Wednesday, October 24

10 a.m.

Committee on Education, Youth and Recreation

Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas


The committee has scheduled a meeting to receive testimony from education officials regarding the status and condition of schools and the public education system in the aftermath of hurricanes Irma and Maria.

Sharon McCollum, commissioner, Department of Education           

Dionne Wells-Hedrington, insular superintendent, District of St. Thomas-St. John

Collen Williams  insular superintendent, District of St. Croix                      

Carol Callwood, president, AFT Local 1825

Rosa Soto-Thomas, president, AFT Local 1826                                    

Carver Farrow, president, AFT Local 1826, St. Thomas-St. John EAA

Rosa White, president, St. Croix EAA

Thursday, October 26

No committee meetings will be held today.

Friday, October 27

No committee meetings will be held today.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support the VI Source

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall - we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. Our sites are more popular than ever, but advertising revenues are falling - so you can see why we could use your help. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. If everybody who appreciates our reporting efforts were to help fund it for as little as $1, our future would be much more secure. Thanks in advance for your support!