75.3 F
Charlotte Amalie
Saturday, April 10, 2021
Home Community Organizations My Brother’s Workshop Chooses New Board of Directors Officers

My Brother’s Workshop Chooses New Board of Directors Officers

Ty Troutman is named president of MBW Board. (Submitted photo)

At the annual meeting of My Brother’s Workshop held in February, longtime supporter Ty Troutman of Bechtel was elected president of its board of directors. Troutman will replace Lisa Hamilton, who served as MBW board president for two years and also held the position as secretary. Hamilton has served on the board since 2014.

“It’s been an honor to serve on My Brother’s Workshop’s Executive Committee since 2016 and its board since 2012. It’s been a pleasure to further the mission of such a dynamic organization, and I look forward to continuing to contribute to MBW’s growth and development as a board member. MBW has expanded from a single construction training site on St. Thomas to adding a café, an educational/counseling center, marine training, the St. Croix workshop and new programs which will launch this year. The executive committee will benefit from the leadership of Ty Troutman, who, I’m confident, will bring a breath of fresh air to the organization.” said Hamilton.

Kirk Callwood is the new treasurer of the MBW Board of Directors. (Submitted photo)

“I am incredibly honored by the opportunity to lead MBW as we continue to expand and impact more and more lives in the Virgin Islands. As a longtime supporter, I know that our program is not only an asset to the community, but essential. I look forward to serving as board president and working with my fellow board members to further the mission of this wonderful organization,” said Troutman.

Tiia Fraebe is the new vice president of the MBW Board of Directors. (Submitted photo)

Also new to the board of directors’ officers is Vice President Tiia Fraebel, who has served on the board for two years. “MBW has experienced immense growth over the past few years, helping numerous young men and women within our community. I am excited for the organization’s future plans to start to unfold and for even more opportunities to arise. It is a pleasure to serve as vice president of the board with an organization that is such an asset to the USVI,” said Faebel.

Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)

MBW Treasurer Kirk Callwood and Secretary Anne Hemmert have been re-elected for another term.

Douglas Brady, Michael DeLugo, Christopher Finch, Clifford Graham, Lisa Hamilton, Allison O’Boyle, Kurt Petri and Jeff Neevel will serve as board members for another term.

Anne Hemmert is the new secretary of the MBW Board of Directors. (Submitted photo)

Board members (MBW’s volunteer leaders) meet regularly with the budget and officers determined at the annual meeting and other business matters discussed throughout the year. Members of the board of directors are elected to serve two-year terms with the officers being elected annually at the annual meeting.

“I would like to thank each board member for everything they do for MBW and our community. This volunteer leadership position is not taken lightly by any of our board members and their dedication to the organization is greatly appreciated,” said Jenny Hawkes, MBW executive director.

To learn more about MBW visit www.mybrothersworkshop.org.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.





Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Load more
Print Friendly, PDF & Email