87.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeNewsElections 2020Slate Certified for Aug. 1 Democratic Primary

Slate Certified for Aug. 1 Democratic Primary

Voters fill in their ballots at the Gladys Abraham Elementary School Polling site inside UVI's Sports and Fitness Center.
During the 2018 primary, voters fill in their ballots at the Gladys Abraham Elementary School polling site inside UVI’s Sports and Fitness Center. (Source file photo)

On Aug. 1, the U.S. Virgin Islands will hold a primary election to select Democratic Party candidates for the November general election. These are the candidates recently certified for that primary by the V.I. Board of Elections:

St. Thomas 
Stedmann Hodge Jr. (Incumbent), Democrat
Shirley M. Sadler, Democrat
Athneil “Bobby” Thomas (Incumbent), Democrat
Jonathan P. Tucker Jr., Democrat
Lawrence “Larry” Boschulte (former St. Thomas administrator), Democrat
Alma Francis Heyliger, Virgin Islands United
Milton Potter, Democrat, current head of the Board of Education, former director of the Division of Personnel
Donna Frett-Gregory (Incumbent), Democrat
Patrick Sprauve (former senator), Democrat
Marvin Blyden (Incumbent), Democrat
Jean Forde (former senator), Democrat
Carla Joseph, Democrat

Board of Education
Nandi Sekou (former member), Democrat
Judith Edwin, Democrat
Kyza Callwood (Incumbent), Democrat
Arah C. Lockhart (Incumbent), Democrat

St. Thomas Democratic Party Offices
Ivan Williams, Territorial Committee, (District)
Edgar “Baker” Phillips, District Chair
Roger Minkoff, Territorial Committee, (District)
Rudolph Anthony Greene, Territorial Committee, At-Large
Glenn Smith, State Chair
Sandra T. Thomas-Mason, Territorial Committee, (District)
Stevlyn Parris, Territorial Committee, (District)
Doris Bedminster, Territorial Committee, (District)
Riise Richards, Territorial Committee, At-Large
Randolph N. Bennett, District Chair
DeShaun A. Smith, Territorial Committee, (District)
Kiese Sam, Territorial Committee, (District)
Barbara A. Petersen, Territorial Committee, At-Large
Kevin A. Rodriguez, Territorial Committee, At-Large

St. Croix
Kurt Vialet (Incumbent), Democrat
Novelle E. Francis Jr. (Incumbent), Democrat
Oakland Benta (Incumbent), Democrat
Allison L. DeGazon (Incumbent), Democrat
Kenneth L. Gittens (Incumbent), Democrat
Genevieve Whitaker, Democrat
Javan E. James Sr. (Incumbent), Democrat
Andrew John, Democrat
Troy C. Williams, Democrat

Board of Education
Shawna K. Richards, Democrat
Imani Heath, Democrat
Emmanuella Perez-Cassius, Democrat

St. Croix Democratic Party Offices
Florine M. Audain Hassell, Territorial Committee, (District)
Cecil R. Benjamin, State Chair
Ophelia “Nemmy” Williams-Jackson, Territorial Committee (District), Territorial Committee At-Large
Donna Christensen, (former delegate to Congress), National Committee Woman
Renee Petersen, District Chair
Sonia Boyce, Territorial Committee, (District)
Elizabeth Centeno, Territorial Committee, (District)
Jeanette K. Guzman, Territorial Committee, (District)
Ashley Devoe Scotland, Territorial Committee, (District)
Peter Abrahams, Territorial Committee, (District)
Carol Burke, National Committee Woman, Territorial Committee (District)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.