Saturday, November 18, 2017 4:25 am Last modified: 5:50 pm

Police Academy Graduates 16 New Officers

The V.I. Police Department graduated 16 new peace officers Monday in a ceremony on St. Thomas.

Judge Denise Francois Superior Court of the Virgin Islands administered the oath of office while family, friends and distinguished guests cheered the graduates, who will report to duty immediately.

Lt. Gov. Osbert Potter addressed the recruits and Police Commissioner Delroy Richards, Assistant Commissioner Curtis Griffin, Police Chief Jason Marsh, Peace Officers Standard and Training Executive Director Kevin Hewitt and Interim Training Director and Special assistant to the Commissioner Lt. Maria Jones distributed certificates to the new officers.

Advertising (skip)

The next recruit class is planned to start in February.

The new officers are

VIPD: Teshawn Adams, Shanice Allamby, Jamaal Fleming, Tamia Freeman, Ashlee Hodge, Shakim Mike, Lenikka Peru, Delberth Phipps, Jr., Chanise Potter, Khalil Tatum, Aliek Wescott, Mikhail Woodley.

Department of Justice: T’Niqua Rogers.

Department of Planning And Natural Resources: Afiya George.

Executive Security Unit: Leonard Rabsatt.

Waste Management Authority: Angel Morris. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support the VI Source

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall - we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. Our sites are more popular than ever, but advertising revenues are falling - so you can see why we could use your help. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. If everybody who appreciates our reporting efforts were to help fund it for as little as $1, our future would be much more secure. Thanks in advance for your support!

Leave a Reply