84.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeNewsLocal government35th Legislature Hosts Perma Plaque Ceremony

35th Legislature Hosts Perma Plaque Ceremony

From left, seated, the honorees are as follows: the Rev. Dr. George E. Phillips; the Ivanna Eudora Kean High School, represented by St Thomas- St John Insular Superintendent Stefan Jurgen; Gregory Hodge who performs as DJ Avalanche; former Sen. George Goodwin (deceased), represented by his son Neal Goodwin. (Photo by Jamal Potter, Legislature of the Virgin Islands)

The 35th Legislature held a Perma Plaque Ceremony to honor Virgin Islanders for their outstanding contributions to the territory’s growth Monday.

The honorees were the Rev. Dr. George E. Phillips; The Ivanna Eudora Kean High School 50th Year Anniversary (1971-2021); Gregory Hodge, better known as DJ Avalanche, who was awarded the Key to the Territory; and former Sen. George Goodwin, who was honored posthumously with the Virgin Islands Medal of Honor, according to Government House.

In his welcome remarks, Senate President Novelle E. Francis Jr. indicated that the four honorees have been defined by leadership, service, creativity, and commitment. “This momentous talent, community, and service have been the driving force behind their many accomplishments, and I commend all the honorees here today for their ongoing efforts to have positive effects in our community,” Francis said.

“I want to emphasize, these individuals have not just ‘talked the talk’ but they have ‘walked the walk.'” The Senate president added, “These honorees have exemplified how one’s dreams can be accomplished through hard work, strength of character and dedication. I deeply admire and respect them all.”

The Presentation of the Plaques:

  • Resolution No. 1895-Bill No. 34-0293, the Rev. Dr. George E. Phillips
  • Resolution No. 1886- Bill No. 34-0174, The Ivanna Eudora Kean High School 50th Year Anniversary (1971-2021)
  • Resolution No. 1905- Bill No. 35-0062, Gregory Hodge, better known as DJ Avalanche
  • Act No. 8702- Bill No. 35-006, former Sen. George E. Goodwin

Sens. Novelle E. Francis Jr., Marvin A. Blyden, Carla J. Joseph, Milton E. Potter, Donna A. Frett-Gregory, Javan E. James Sr., Ray Fonseca, Dwayne M. DeGraff, and Alma Francis Heyliger were present at the ceremony.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.