87.5 F
Charlotte Amalie
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
HomeNewsElections 2022Elections Finishes Counting 2022 V.I. Democratic Primary

Elections Finishes Counting 2022 V.I. Democratic Primary

The Board of Elections supervises voting in the U.S. Virgin Islands. (Source photo of V.I. voters at the polls in 2018)

The Board of Elections concluded the counting of the 2022 Democratic Primary Election Absentee Ballots on Tuesday in both districts. Winners go on to the General Election in November to compete against other party candidates and independents.

For the governor’s race, incumbent Gov. Albert Bryan Jr. and Lt. Gov. Tregenza Roach won handily with 4,269 votes and 65 percent. Kent Bernier and Oakland Benta got 34 percent with 2,255 votes. A total of 6,564 votes were cast in that race.

For the at-large seat in the Legislature reserved for a St. John resident, incumbent Angel Bolques — who recently took the seat after Steven Payne was removed by his fellow senators amid allegations of misconduct — won in a landslide with 77 percent and 3,777 votes, to Payne’s 22 percent and 1,067 votes.

The seven Democrats who landed ballot slots for St. Croix legislative seats in the General Election are:

Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)

1: Incumbent Sen. Kenneth Kenny Gittens, 1,771 votes and 14.23 percent;
2: Incumbent Sen. Novelle E Francis Jr., 1,732 votes and 13.92 percent;
3: Marise C. James, 1,693 votes and 13.60 percent;
4: Diane T. Capehart, 1,477 votes and 11.87 percent;
5: Nemmy Williams Jackson, 1,296 votes and 10.41 percent;
6: Incumbent Sen. Javan E. James, 1,241 votes and 9.97 percent;
7: Incumbent Sen. Genevieve Whitaker, 1,229 votes and 9.88 percent.

Hubert L. Frederick came close, with 1,220 votes and 9.80 percent, but did not make the final seven. Troy C. Williams was next with 751 votes and 6.04 percent;

The seven Democrats who landed ballot slots for St. Thomas/St. John legislative seats in the General Election are:

1: Incumbent Sen. Donna Frett-Gregory, 2,211 votes and 17.03 percent;
2: Incumbent Sen. Milton E. Potter, 2,141 votes and 16.49 percent;
3: Incumbent Sen. Carla Joseph, 1,656 votes and 12.76 percent;
4: Incumbent Sen. Marvin A. Blyden, 1,631 votes and 12.56 percent;
5: Incumbent Sen. Joel S. Browne Connors, 1,105 votes and 8.51 percent;
6: Lawrence Boschulte, 1,095 votes and 8.43 percent;
7: Ray Fonseca, 1,095 votes and 8.43 percent.

The other candidates were: Shenelle Fina Francis, 995 votes and 7.66 percent; Ke’Shawn K. J. Louis, 599 votes and 4.61 percent; and Teofilo Ciprian, 371 votes and 2.86 percent.

The two Democrats going on to the General Election to represent St. Croix on the Board of Education are:

1: Winona A. Hendricks, 1,252 votes and 34.40 percent;
2: Terrence T. Joseph, 1,235 votes and 33.93 percent.

Denis Lynch II came in third with 1,141 votes and 31.35 percent;

The two Democrats going on to the General Election to represent St Thomas/St. John on the Board of Education are:

1: Judy M. Gomez, 2,057 votes and 48.15 percent;
2: Arah C. Lockhart, 1,343 votes and 31.44 percent.

The three Democrats going on to the General Election to represent St. Croix on the Board of Elections are:

1. Raymond J. Williams, 1,432 votes and 34.18 percent;
2. Florine Audain Hassell, 1,022 votes and 24.40 percent;
3. Kareem T. Francis, 912 votes and 21.77 percent.

Franz Buffy Christian was fourth with 813 votes and 19.41 percent.

The one Democrat going on to the General Election to represent St. Thomas/St. John on the Board of Elections is:

Atanya Springette, 1,113 votes and 62.35 percent.

Delekah D. Callwood got 654 votes and 36.64 percent.

Democratic Party State Chair

Stedmann Hodge Jr. won with 1,948 votes and 42.07 percent.

Democratic Party St. Thomas/St. John Chair

Barbara A. Petersen won with 1,044 votes and 40.64 percent.

Democratic Party Territorial Committee At Large

The 16 winners are:

1. Carol M. Burke, 2,027 votes and 9.06 percent;
2. Riise E. S. Richards, 1,852 votes and 8.28 percent;
3. Barbara A. Petersen, 1,770 votes and 7.92 percent;
4. Sandra L. Setorie, 1,381 votes and 6.18 percent;
5. Florine Audain Hassell, 1,211 votes and 5.42 percent;
6. Jonathan P. Tucker Jr., 1,128 votes and 5.04 percent;
7. Sandra Thomas-Mason, 1,127 votes and 5.04 percent;
8. Atanya Springette, 1,079 votes and 4.83 percent;
9. Chaneel Callwood, 1,055 votes and 4.72 percent;
10. Africah Harrigan, 1,050 votes and 4.70 percent;
11. Eduardo Butch Corneiro, 979 votes and 4.38 percent;
12. Rudolph “Tony” Greene, 909 votes and 4.06 percent;
13. Deborah C. Johnson, 848 votes and 3.79 percent;
14. Jeannette K. Guzman, 834 votes and 3.73 percent;
15. Karen Chancellor, 824 votes and 3.68 percent;
16. Delekah D. Callwood, 798 votes and 3.57 percent.

Democratic Party Territorial Committee St. Croix

The six winners are:

1. Carolyn M. Burke, 974 votes and 16.33 percent;
2. Sonia L. Boyce, 941 votes and 15.78 percent;
3. Shomari A.C. Moorehead, 855 votes and 14.34 percent;
4. Cecil R. Benjamin, 854 votes and 14.32 percent;
5. Deborah C. Johnson, 696 votes and 11.67 percent;
6. Ashley D. Scotland, 642 votes and 10.76 percent.

Democratic Party Territorial Committee St. Croix

The eight winners are:

1. Kyza A. Callwood, 1,275 votes and 16.02 percent;
2. Riise E. S. Richards, 1,157 votes and 14.54 percent;
3. Elma Brathwaite-Curtis, 1,004 votes and 12.61 percent;
4. Edgar “Baker” Phillips, 842 votes and 10.58 percent;
5. Sandra Thomas-Mason, 727 votes and 9.13 percent;
6. Atanya Springette, 707 votes and 8.88 percent;
7. Chaneel Callwood, 646 votes and 8.12 percent;
8. Africah Harrigan, 615 votes and 7.73 percent.

On St. Croix, a total of 132 absentee ballots were counted, and on St. Thomas-St. John, 184 absentee ballots were counted for a total of 316 Absentee Voters territorywide. A total of 21 Provisional Ballots were counted on St. Thomas/St. John. There were no Provisional Ballots in the St. Croix district. A total 7,064 voters participated in the Democratic Primary Election, or 20.36 percent of the territory’s 34,697 registered Democrats.

Full results can be viewed at the V.I. Elections System website.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.