Senator Announces 2018 Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship Recipients

Sen. Marvin A. Blyden

Annually, the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands selects three students from the Charlotte Amalie High School, three from the Ivanna Eudora Kean High School and two from the Raphael O. Wheatley Skills Center to be awarded the Marvin A. Blyden Scholarship based on academic skills and submitted essays.

Sen. Blyden extends congratulations to the scholarship recipients and all graduates of the Virgin Islands. He gives special thanks to everyone who helped make these scholarships available to the students.

“You are our future and it is my hope that you all will use your education to meaningfully contribute to our community. We need young, smart minds in the government and private sector to give us a leading-edge,” the senator said.

Juchara Margetson (CAHS) – $1,500
Ketura Harrigan (CAHS) – $1,500
LeeAnn Horsford (CAHS) – $1,500
Aria Rawlings (IEKHS) – $1,500
Jahkyra Margetson (IEKHS) – $1,500
Shenice Labadie (IEKHS) – $1,500
Lakesha Hillhouse (Wheatley) – $1,000
Tasha Freeman-Arnold (Wheatley) – $1,000

Advertising (skip)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support the VI Source

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall - we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. Our sites are more popular than ever, but advertising revenues are falling - so you can see why we could use your help. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. If everybody who appreciates our reporting efforts were to help fund it for as little as $1, our future would be much more secure. Thanks in advance for your support!