80.9 F
Charlotte Amalie
Friday, September 25, 2020
Home News Local news Territorial Hospital Board Approves Medical Staff

Territorial Hospital Board Approves Medical Staff

The Territorial Hospital Board met briefly Tuesday to approve more than a dozen medical personnel for the Schneider Regional Medical Center since that district board lacked sufficient members to reach a quorum and approve the appointments.

The four current members on the governing board for Schneider Regional are Cornel Williams, Dr. Margaret Sprauve, Gretta Hart-Hyndman and Maria Tankenson-Hodge. The nine-member board has five vacancies barring the possibility of a quorum. It is up to the governor to fill vacancies on both hospital boards and the territorial board.

Territorial Board Chairman Nellon Bowry called the meeting to order and Williams, chair of the St. Thomas-St. John governing board, and Dr. Luis Amaro, chief medical officer at SRMC presented the names and recommended approval while denying two other applications.

The board voted to approve Drs. Dionne Simmonds, Eric Stelnicki, Marilyn Griffin, Mohammed Naveed Khan, John Franklin, Lawrence Goldman, Cynthia Oberfelder, Kimberly Hawn Wright, Martha Carter and Philip Neely to one- or two-year appointments. Physician assistant Jessica Jones and psychologists Sheena Walker and Nicolette Howells were also granted staff privileges at the St. Thomas hospital.

Denied an extension of surgical privileges were Drs. Edwin Williams and Alain Polynice, reportedly because they lacked the number of cases to warrant reappointment.

Present at the teleconferenced meeting were Bowry, Williams, Sprauve, Vera Falu, Aracelis B. Walcott, Philip Arcidi, Nelda Coombs-Ephraim and Dr. Olivine Anne Treasure.

There are 15 members on the territorial board with two vacant positions for St. John appointees. The full board comprises six members from each nine-member district board and three government agency representatives.

The governmental representatives are Bowry, director of the V.I. Office of Management and Budget, Valdamier Collens, commissioner of the Finance Department, and Dr. Michelle Davis, Health commissioner.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Support the VI Source

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall - we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. Our sites are more popular than ever, but advertising revenues are falling - so you can see why we could use your help. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. If everybody who appreciates our reporting efforts were to help fund it for as little as $1, our future would be much more secure. Thanks in advance for your support!





Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

12 hours ago

Virgin Islands Source

Ayesha Morris speaks with Conch Shell Media’s DaraMonifah® Cooper about the upcoming 15th Annual Dollar fo’ Dollar Culture & History Tour. The virtual event takes place Saturday, September 26th, 2020 from 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. via WUVI Radio’s Zoom and can be viewed live on the Dollar fo’ Dollar Facebook page ... See MoreSee Less

Load more
Print Friendly, PDF & Email