88.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Monday, May 27, 2024
HomeNewsElections 2016List of 2016 Candidates Official – Unless and Until Court Rules Otherwise

List of 2016 Candidates Official – Unless and Until Court Rules Otherwise

Despite the turmoil churned by new election laws, deadly serious political party infighting, policy changes, multiple interpretations of existing laws and a bevy of court challenges, the Joint Board of Elections and Election Supervisor Caroline Fawkes are struggling to keep a semblance of order for the 2016 election cycle.

Late Wednesday, after an all-day meeting of the joint board addressing myriad issues, Fawkes released the official list of candidates for 2016.

It differed only slightly from the unofficial list published two weeks ago.

There is no change in the race for Delegate to Congress where incumbent Stacey Plaskett is facing a challenge from fellow-Democrat Ronald E. Russell, former Senate president.

Only two of the 15 senators currently serving have opted not to seek reelection: Senator-at-Large Almando “Rocky” Liburd and St. Thomas-St. John district Sen. Clifford F. Graham. All the St. Croix district incumbents have filed petitions to run again, although one of them will appear under a different name.

Formerly known as Sen. Terrence A. “Positive” Nelson, Nelson legally changed his first name to what had been his nickname, so he is listed now for senatorial candidate as “Positive T.A. Nelson.”

Former Sen. Alicia “Chucky” Hansen is attempting to win back a St. Croix Senate seat. The multi-termed Hansen was convicted in 2008 of three counts of willful failure to file her income tax return. She was reelected in both 2010 and 2012, but in 2014 questions of her eligibility for office were raised, with critics arguing that her crime reached the threshold of “moral turpitude” and so disqualified her.

The controversy dominated the courts, the elections process and the news media for weeks. The V.I. Supreme Court ruled against Hansen, but then-Gov. John de Jongh Jr. pardoned her. Although the pardon cleared the way for Hansen to run, she had missed the deadline for filing her petition. She attempted a write-in campaign, but fell far below the number of votes needed to get a seat.

As usual, the vast majority of candidates are running as Democrats. The second-biggest category comprises “No Party” candidates. There are only a handful of Republicans running for any public office – most of them for the Board of Elections; and only two members of the Independent Citizens Movement – Nelson for a St. Croix legislative seat and Stephen M. Frett for a St. Thomas-St. John legislative seat.

For an organization to maintain its status as a recognized political party, persons running under the party banner must garner at least a combined 5 percent of the total vote.

In the past, before the November general election, the Elections Office held a primary in August at which voters could vote for officers in the party of their choice. They also selected their party candidates for public office.  

Typically neither Republicans nor the ICM party had more candidates running for any given public office than there were seats available, so they rarely needed a primary for any reason other than electing party officers.

In a change of policy, the board is attempting to eliminate party officers from the August primary and leave it only for public offices, which would effectively mean only Democrats would have a primary this year. Again the policy has been challenged.

There were a few differences between the unofficial and the official list of candidates. One of the more significant changes involves the senator-at-large position. There are two people vying for the single spot, both of them running as Democrats, which means the position will be one of those on the Democratic primary ballot. The candidates are Brian A. Smith and Stacie B. January. January was erroneously listed as a candidate for a district seat on the unofficial list.

Two candidates who appeared on the unofficial list were dropped from the official.   Fawkes said Anselma John-Ayala, who had submitted a petition to run for the Legislature on St. Croix, withdrew her name. Omar Henry, who also had been listed in the St. Croix legislative race, was cut from list because he didn’t have enough names of certified voters on his petition.

People running for office under a party banner must get signatures from at least 25 people who are registered voters under that party affiliation.

Those who are running as “No Party” need 100 signatures, but they may be voters registered in any party or as independents. That is a recent change to the elections law; a “no party” candidacy used to require 50 signatures.

Another recent change is the requirement that anyone serving on the Board of Elections may not run for another public office. That law went into effect in December 2014 and is now being challenged for the first time. Ivy K. Moses, who serves on the board, is attempting to run for a legislative district seat.

Fawkes initially disqualified her unless she resigned from the board, but the case is in court, so, at least for now, her name appears on the official list of candidates.

Below are the 2016 candidates, per the current official list.

Delegate to Congress

Stacey Plaskett, Dem

Ronald E. Russell, Dem


Brian A. Smith, Dem

Stacie B. January, Dem

District Senator, St. Croix


Terrence D. Joseph

George Moore

Kurt Vialet

Sammuel Sanes

Agustin Q. Salas

Novelle E. Francis Jr.

Neville James

Ignacio Llanos III

Troy Mason

Fred Esannason

Kenneth L. Gittens

Nereida “Nellie” Rivera-O’Reilly


Alicia Hansen

Patricia James

Duane Howell

Norman Jn Baptiste

Danny Emmaneul


Robert B. Moorhead


Positive T.A. Nelson

District Senator, St. Thomas-St. John


Myron Jackson

Janette Millin young

Dwayne Degraff

Kevin Rodriguez

Justin Harrigan Sr.

Ivy K. Moses

Jean A. Forde

Marvin A. Blyden

Patrick Simeon Sprauve

Julia R. Joseph-Simon

Claudette Georges


Bruce C. Flamon

Shirley M. Sadler

Tregenza A. Roach

Margaret Price

Maxwell A. Caarty

Albert F. Richaardson

Alma Francis Heyliger

Janelle K. Sarauw

Wilma Marsh Monsanto


Stephen M. Frett



Board of Education – At Large

James Provost, Dem

Board of Education – St. Croix district

Susanna Callwood Smith, Dem

Mary L. Moorhead, No Party

Martial Webster, No Party

Board of Education – St. Thomas-St. John district

LaVerne Slack, Dem

Kyza A. Callwood, Dem

Yegin Habtes, Dem

Arah C. Lockhart, Dem

Phoebe Smith-Charles, Dem

Joan Foy, No Party

Board of Elections – St. Croix

Glenn Webster, Rep

Lilliana Belardo de O’Neal, Rep

Jevon O.A. Williams, Rep

Epiphane Joseph, No Party

Lisa Harris Moorhead, No Party

Board of Elections – St. Thomas-St. John

Patrick Varlack, Dem

Arturo Watlington, Jr., Dem

Maurice A. Donovan, Jr., Dem

Lydia A. Hendricks, No Party

Alecia M. Wells, No Party

Harriet A. Mercer, No Party

Lawrence Boschulte, Rep

Robert M. Schanfarber, Rep

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.