83.6 F
Charlotte Amalie
Sunday, July 14, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesSport Enthusiasts Celebrate Annual Olympic Day Run

Sport Enthusiasts Celebrate Annual Olympic Day Run

June 21, 2005 – Some fifty plus runners, officials and volunteers took part in the 19th Annual Olympic Day Run held Saturday afternoon at the University of the Virgin Islands St. Croix Campus.
Nestled between two of the largest educational complexes in the territory, the University and the St.Croix Educational Complex High School, the two-mile run took the participants twice around a one-mile perimeter loop on the campus. The first mile saw last year's winner, Olympic swimmer, Josh Laban and high school runner Juan Robles go close to five minutes for the first mile on the green cross-country course. Robles would go from there to win the race in 10 minutes and 57 seconds. Laban was second in 12:27 and 40 year-old Mike Klein was third in 12:32. Sanny Eugene, just graduating from the St. Croix Education Complex High School and the current gold medal winner in the CARIFTA 800 meters showed she could go the distance with her leg speed at the end taking her to first place in 13:08 and just ahead of Theresa Harper, secretary of the V.I. Cycling Federation, 13:20 and Sherma Aurelien third in 14:24. Each of these women have represented the Virgin Islands on national teams.
A number of Olympic Committee member federation officials were on hand to show support — Pat Hensly, president of the V.I. Swimming Federation; Tom Guthrie, president of the V.I. Cycling Federation; Ronald Russell, president of the V.I. Track and Field Federation and Nick Castrucio, president of the V.I. Yachting Federation. Castrucio was the oldest participant in the event. A complete list of finishers follows, separated by gender and then age..
1.Juan Robles 10:57; 2. Josh Laban 12:27; 3. Mike Klein 12:32; 4. Colin Daugherty 13:03; 5. Bernell Smithen 13:05; 6. Shane Hodge 13:15; 7. Patrick Cuffy 14:42; 8. Mike Hill 14:43; 9. Mike Stern 16:05 10. Fred Flint 16:28; 11. Stuart Ketchum 16:34; 12. Duvante Vegas 17:07; 13. Miguel Llanos 17:18; 14. Rey Lutz 17:31; 15. Brad Chaffee 18:20; 16. Ronald Russell 19:42; 17 Pat Hensley; 24:13; 18. Brendon James; 19. Nick Castruccio 31:08
1.Sanny Eugene 13:08; 2. Theresa Harper 13:20; 3. Shrema Aurelien 15:09; 4. Earthla Augustin 15:09; 5. Monica Eugene 15:34; 6. Mackish Taylor 15:34; 7. Andrea Russell 17:35; 8. Samantha Smith 18:15; 9. Royette Russell 19:43; 10. Patty Hensley 24:13; 11. Veda Lawrence 26:10; 12. Bria James 31:05.
Over 40 males
1.Patrick Cuffy; 2. Mike Hill; 3. Fred Flint
Over 40 females:
1.Earthla Augustin; 2. Royette Russell
Over 50 males:
1.Mike Stern; 2. Stuart Ketchum; 3. Ronald Russell; 4. Pat Hensley
Over 50 females:
1.Patty Hensley; 2. Veda Lawrence
Under 10 males
1.Brenden James
Under 10 females:
1.Bria James

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.