79.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Saturday, May 18, 2024


Feb. 15, 2004 — Preliminary results from the first day of this year's St. Croix Yacht Club International Regatta were announced today by race director Julie San Martin. Innovative Communications is once again the primary sponsor of this year's regatta in which 26 boats from the U.S.V.I., the B.V.I. and Puerto Rico are competing in Buck Island Channel.
Leading the CSA Racing group is Willy T from Tortola, skippered by Kevin Rowlette; followed by St. Croix's El Shaddai, which is skippered by Jeff Fangman. In third place is St. Croix's Broken Drum, skippered by Jack Bishop.
In the Racing Cruiser group, Skipper Peter Haycraft on Pipedream is leading, followed by St. Thomas's Tempest, which is skippered by John Haracivet. In third place is St. Croix's Annik II, skippered by Nick Castruccio.
First in the Cruising category is Skipper Jose Sanchez from Puerto Rico in Balaju 2. In second is St. Croix's Wishful Thinking, skippered by Michael Stasber; followed in third by Newport Beach's 4 Play, skippered by Mark Duranthy.
In the Beach Cat category, Caribbean Auto Mart from St. Croix is leading, skippered by Tom Ainger, last year's winner in the category. Puerto Rico's Loco Too, skippered by Anton Gunerica is in second; followed by St. Thomas's Rush, skippered by Bruce Merced.
In the Large Multihull category, Piglet, skippered by St. Croix's Joe San Martin is leading again this year against St. Croix's Charis, skippered by Llewellyn Westerman.
This year's new Valentine Optimist Regatta got off to a rousing start with morning and afternoon races for sailors ages 8 to 15. Seventeen junior sailors from St. Thomas, St. Croix, and Puerto Rico are competing.
Amoung the youngest beginning sailors in the Green Fleet, Nicki Barnes from St. Thomas is in first at the end of day one, followed by Nathan Cousins and Copley Evans, both from Frederiksted.
Among the older sailors in the Red, Blue, and White fleets, Puerto Rico's Jose Nigoglioni is currently in first, followed by Jay Tonachel and Morgan Bryan, both of St. Croix.
Optimist racing continues Sunday in Teague Bay with awards presented in the afternoon.
Big boat racing also continues Sunday and Monday with awards presented Monday at 3 p.m. at the St. Croix Yacht Club.

Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name, and the city and state/country or island where you reside.

Publisher's note : Like the St. Croix Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice… click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.