The Forum Presents the 2018-2019 Season

A scene from the opera “The Exterminating Angel” which was part of last year’s forum season

The Forum will present the following events during its 2018-2019 Season at Prior-Jollek Hall, Antilles School Campus. The Court Yard will open at 7 p.m. (serving small means and desserts); show time is 8 p.m.

Adam Golda Trio — Saturday, Oct. 27, 2018: Michelle Ross on violin; Jam Muller Szerows on cello; Adam Golka on piano.
Overalls and Aprons – Saturday, Nov. 7, 2018: there will be a screening of a documentary, panel and food tasting: “From Farm to Table” by filmmaker Thibaut Fagonde, Chef Digby and Chef BJ
Water Island Festival – Saturday, Jan. 18-19, 2019: “Chopin Must Go On” directed by Julian Gargiulo
Laura Mersini-Houghton – Saturday, Feb. 9, 2019: Speaker on “What Happened Before the Big Bang”
Miro Quartet – Saturday, Feb. 23, 2019: Daniel Ching on violin; William Fedkenheuer on violin; John Largess on viola; Joshua Gindele on cello
Timothy Porter Trio – Saturday, March 23, 2019: Joe Selly on guitar; Santi Debriano on bass; Timothy Porter on mandolin
Elena Uriuste and Michael Brown Duet – Saturday, April 6, 2019: Elena Uriuste on violin and Michael Brown on piano
Rene Marie Quartet – Saturday, April 13, 2019: Rene Marie sings accompanied by piano, bass and drums

The Forum, Live Screenings in HD, Season 2018-2019
At Prior-Jollek Hall, Antilles School Campus; Court Yard will open at 6 p.m. (serving small means and desserts); show time is 7 p.m.

MET Opera – “Aida” – by Giuseppe Verdi on Thursday, Nov. 8, 2018
MET Opera – “Samson and Dalila” by Camille Saint-Saens on Thursday, Dec. 6, 2018
National Theater – “King Lear” by William Shakespeare on Thursday, De. 13, 2018
MET Opera – “La Traviata” by Giuseppe Verdi on Thursday, Jan. 10, 2019
National Theater – “The Madness of George III” by Allan Bennett on Thursday, Jan. 31, 2019
MET Opera – “Adriana Lecouvreur” by Francesco Cilea on Thursday, March 7, 2019
MET Opera – “Carmen” by Georges Bizet on Thursday, March 28, 2019

Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)

The Forum’s mission is to provide audiences with the opportunity to experience high-quality programs featuring music, theater, opera, film and stimulating speakers, from October 2018 through May 2019.

This year, it has reinforced its mission of enriching the culture of the Virgin Islands by arranging for its Community Outreach (workshops and master classes) to be open to the public, hosted by the UVI Music Department and in collaboration with the V.I. Department of Education (VIDE). The goal is to foster a life-long appreciation for the arts in the territory’s diverse population.

This season has been made possible by: The Forum Circle Members, The Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, Fintrac, The Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands, The VI Lottery, The Virgin Islands Council on the Arts and The National Endowment for the Arts, The Virgin Islands Department of Agriculture, The Prior Family Foundation, The Forum Family and volunteers.

Community Outreach will take place from 10 a.m. to noon at the University of the Virgin Islands Music Department
Friday October 26, 2018 — Adam Golka Trio
Friday January 18, 2019 — Water Island Festival
Friday February 8, 2019 — Laura Mensini-Houghton, UVI Physics Department
Friday February 22, 2019 — The Miró Quartet
Friday, March 22, 2019 — The Timothy Porter Trio
Friday, April 5, 2019 — Elena Urioste and Michael Brown
Thursday, April 11, 2019 — The René Marie Quartet

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Support the VI Source

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall - we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. Our sites are more popular than ever, but advertising revenues are falling - so you can see why we could use your help. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. If everybody who appreciates our reporting efforts were to help fund it for as little as $1, our future would be much more secure. Thanks in advance for your support!