73.1 F
Charlotte Amalie
Friday, February 23, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesTurnbull Makes Nominations to PSC Commission, Various Other Boards

Turnbull Makes Nominations to PSC Commission, Various Other Boards

May 4, 2006 – Gov. Charles W. Turnbull has sent several names to the Legislature as nominations to two boards and one commission. The most pressing are the four nominations to the Public Services Commission.
The PSC has been hog tied for months – unable to get a quorum because out of the seven members on the commission, only four were active members – barely a quorum, and two of them newly appointed.
Yvette Canegatta-Jones resigned in August. Jerris T. Browne was tapped in February to head the newly formed independent Motor Vehicle Bureau, and the governor's assistant Alric Simmonds – who has served two terms and who the governor had sought to reappoint – withdrew his name after being rejected by the full Senate once and forwarded on to the full body a second time with an unfavorable recommendation.
On Thursday, Turnbull nominated former Sen. Donald "Ducks" Cole to replace Simmonds. Cole served as a nonvoting member of the PSC during his time as a senator. The board includes two such senatorial members who are appointed by the Senate president.
The governor also nominated Sirri I. Hamad, president and general manager of Speedy Gas Inc., to replace Canegatta-Jones and Thomas Jackson, a retired police lieutenant to replace Browne.
Turnbull also re-nominated Verne C. David, who is a tax consultant. This will be David's second term.
Members serve three-year terms and may serve until a successor is sworn in.
Turnbull offered the name of Wesley Samuel Williams Jr. to serve on the Board of Trustees of the University of the Virgin Islands. Williams is the co-chairman of the board of directors of the Lockhart Companies and serves on numerous national boards including the National Bank of Washington D.C. board.
The 17 members on UVI's board of trustees serve five-year terms. Each member may serve until the appointment of their successor. Ten of the members must be residents of the Virgin Islands and seven do not need to be residents.
Turnbull also nominated Nereida Rivera-O 'Reilly to fill the current vacancy on the St. Croix Board of Education. She was elected to the board in 2004 and subsequently resigned for personal and work-related reasons. Later she sought reappointment and was recommended by the board at a recent meeting, a release from Government House said.
All of the nominees must be approved by the Legislature.
In each case, Turnbull urged the senators to act promptly and favorably on all of the nominations.

Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.