84.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Thursday, July 25, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesCycling Season Kicks off with First Road Race

Cycling Season Kicks off with First Road Race

Feb. 6, 2006 – All three categories in Virgin Islands cycling had exciting sprint finishes in the South Shore Circuit Race on Sunday. The first-time course opened the season, and the spectators lining the finish area were not disappointed with the action.
The Elite level riders raced two loops of the 21-mile route, which included multiple climbs up Lowry Hill, Estate Sight and a long grind up the hill in Estate Work and Rest. The action was serious from the start, with attacks and counter attacks continuing throughout. Gabe Webber of Cruzan Sprockets mad the final jump with over four miles to go but was reeled in just before the finish by winner Jamie Keys of Endurance Sports and Alex Betencourt of STX 340.
The Expert category saw Glen Massiah of STX 340 nip unattached Jose Prado by a few bike lengths. Jose Prado, Messiah's teammate captured third and more points for their surging squad.
21 riders toed the line for the Sport group, generating the largest category of cyclists in Virgin Islands Cycling Federation history. Paul Trivino, of the brand new Twin City squad, captured his first win, out sprinting three other riders, including Jason Snow of the Sprockets, Dale Scope of STX 340 and Dick Isherwood of V.I. Tek.
The newly implemented team scoring system has radically changed the face of cycling in the territory and has increased the level of competition dramatically. The standings are Endurance Sports 23 points, STX 340 12 points, Cruzan Sprockets 6 points, Twin City 5 and V.I. Tek still looking for their first podium.
More information about cycling can be found at www.vicf.org.
South Shore Circuit Race February 5, 2006
Elite – 42 miles
1. Jamie Keys 1:49.20* Endurance
2. Alex Betancourt 1:49.21 STX340
3. Gabe Webber 1:49.22** Sprockets
4. Danney Fontenelle 1:49.27 STX340
5. Sue Brown 1:49.28 Sprockets
6. John Riggs 1:49.29 STX340
7. Juancito Gario 1:49.30 STX340
8. Cumber Greaux 1:49.36 STX340
9. Tom Guthrie DNF Sprockets
10. John Harper DNF Sprockets
11. Wayne Patrick DNF Endurance
Expert – 21 miles
1. Glenn Massiah 56.03 STX340
2. Jose Prado 56.05
3. Jose Diaz 59.57 STX340
4. Chris Dorsey 59.59 Sprockets
5. Hanif Lafond 1:01.18 STX340
6. Kamal Russell 1:02.01 VITek*
7. Billy Lucas 1:02.01
8. Charles Hamel 1:02.02
9. Tim Norman 1:04.10
10. Colin Daugherty 1:04.26 Sprockets
11. Robert Bumann DNF Sprockets
Sport – 15 miles KEY:
1. Paul Trivino 41.42 Twin City *= Lowry Hill climb prime
2. Jason Snow 41.44 Sprockets **= South Shore sprint prime
3. Dale Scope 41.46 STX340 # = 50+ years
4. Dick Isherwood# 41.47 VITek*
5. Joseph Thomas 41.56 Endurance
6. Miguel Cruz 45.22 Twin City TODAY'S TEAM POINTS
7. Victor Cruz# 45.25 VITek* Endurance: 5 pts
8. Mathias Sampson 46.13 STX340: 12 pts
9. Luis Cruz 46.15 Twin City Cruzan Sprockets: 5 pts
10. Edwin Cruz 46.19 Twin City VITek*: 0 pts
11. Diego Grimaldo 46.24 Twin City: 5 pts
12. Bevern Sage 48.21 STX340
13. Angel Arias 49.14 TOTAL TEAM POINTS
14. Conrad Hoover 48.52 VITek* Endurance: 23 pts
15. Ferdi Abraham 51.22 Endurance STX340:20 pts
16. Paul Gillette# 51.35 Cruzan Sprockets: 6 pts
17. Mervin Mills 52.17 STX340 VITek*: 0 pts
18. Gary Jett# 57.17 Twin City: 5 pts
19. Andre Galiber 57.19 Endurance
20. Brian O'Reilly DNF V.I.Tek*
21. Ben Ramos DNF Twin City

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.