74.9 F
Charlotte Amalie
Sunday, January 29, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesRun to Your Library Race Results

Run to Your Library Race Results

April 19, 2005 – To celebrate National Library Week, V.I. Pace Runners and Friends of the Florence Williams Public Library teamed up for the 23rd annual Run to Your Library race. The 3.1 mile race was won this year by Juan Robles with a time of 17 minutes and 56 seconds. Tesha Distad won for the women with a time of 22:47.
Robles, a bronze medal winner in the 2004 CARIFTA Championships 3000 meters, and currently the top high school distance runner in the Virgin Islands, had no challenge as he held a brisk pace down King St., up Company St. and through the newly renovated Sunday Market Square. Mike Klein, in the final stages of training for the upcoming triathlon, was second in 18:59 to make his goal of sub-19 minutes. Richard Jean-Pierre was third in 20:05.
Tesha Distad, also training for the triathlon, was the first female to finish the race, her time was 22:47, just barely ahead of Earthla Augustin who was second in 22:54. Louise Stapleton was third in 24:57.
First place finishers won medals, a subscription to Running Times Magazine, certificates signed by the Governor of the Virgin Islands, special library bookmarks and free library cards.
National Library Week is celebrated annually throughout the U.S. in April. The race was sponsored by the Friends of the Florence Williams Public Library, and organized by the Virgin Islands Pace Runners.
The next event on the V.I. Pace calendar is the 17th Paradise 5K on Thursday, April 28, at 6 p.m. at the Buccaneer Hotel. This will be followed on Friday by The Children Run Christiansted on Friday, April 29, 6 p.m. at the Sunday Market Square in Christiandsted. The children's race is 630 meters and meant for kids ages 13 and under.

The Finishers
1.Juan Robles 17:56; 2. Mike Klein 18:59; 3. Richard Jean-Pierre 20:05; 4. Dale Scope 21:09; 5. Tyler Jowaisas 21:31; 6. Bruce Daugherty 21:47; 7. Mike Springer 22:11; 8. Errol Chichester 22:25; 8. Teddy Seymour 22:47; 9. Mark Kennedy 23:24; 10. Scott Fricks 23:51; 11. Mike Haworth 24:26; 12. Stuart Ketchum 24:45; 13. Larry Williams 24:57; 14. Mike Hill 24:57; 15. Ruben Camacho II 43:41.

1.Tesha Distad 22:26; 2. Earthla Augustin 22:54; 3. Louise Stapleton 24:57; 4. Madeline Cruz 25:21; 5. Dulcie Crowther 26:58; 6. Janet Jean-Pierre 32:28.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.