83.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesFirst Provisional Ballot Count Results in Little Change

First Provisional Ballot Count Results in Little Change

Nov. 6, 2004 – St. Croix provisional and walk-in ballots were counted on Friday. Although candidates picked up more votes, no significant changes to the line-up were seen. But the races are not over yet – St. Thomas/ St. John district provisional ballots and walk-ins and all mailed absentee ballots are still to be counted.
The at-large Senate race, which saw the unofficial winner, Craig Barshinger, ahead of Sen. Almando "Rocky" Liburd by 325 votes, was increased in Barshinger's favor by 44 votes.
St. Croix seventh-place finisher Sen. Ronald Russell's close margin over the eighth-place finisher, former Sen. Adelbert M. Bryan, widened from 21 votes to 63 votes.
St. Croix Senator-elect Juan Figuroa Serville also edged ahead, replacing Senator-elect Terrance "Positive" Nelson in the third-place position. Nelson is now in fourth place.
St. Thomas/ St. John district provisional ballots and walk-ins will be counted on Monday. By law, the Board of Elections must open and count mailed absentee ballots 10 days after elections.
Below is a list of candidates and the number of St. Croix provisional and walk-in votes they received. (For a complete list of unofficial votes, see "Unofficial Results, 2004 V.I. General Election").
Delegate To Congress

1. Donna M. Christensen, Democratic Party, 256
2. Warren B. Mosler, Independent, 95
3. Krim M. Ballentine, Republican Party, 10

Senator At-Large

1. Craig W. Barshinger, Democratic Party, 165
2. Almando "Rocky" Liburd, Independent Citizens Movement, 121
Senator – St. Croix

1. Neville James, Democratic Party, 175
2. Pedro "Pete" Encarnacion, Democratic Party, 123
3. Juan Figueroa Serville, Democratic Party, 109
4. Terrence "Positive" Nelson, Independent Citizens Movement, 78
5. Norman Jn Baptiste, Independent, 95
6. Usie Raymond Richards, Independent Citizens Movement, 130
7. Ronald E. Russell, Democratic Party, 145
8. Adelbert M. "Bert" Bryan, Independent Citizens Movement, 103
9. Michael Thurland, Democratic Party, 125
10. Douglas E. Canton Jr., Democratic Party, 87
11. Emmett Hansen II, Democratic Party, 84
12. Noel Loftus, Republican Party, 87
13. Oneida Granger, Independent, 56
14. Lilliana Belardo de O' Neal, Republican Party, 55
15. Alicia "Chucky" Hansen, Independent, 40
16. Wayne A.G. James, Independent, 96
17. Troy D. Mason Sr., Independent, 20
18. Reuben Fenton, Republican Party, 41
19. Rhea D. Dowling, Republican Party, 28
20. Robert N. McAuliffe, Republican Party, 80
21. Michael A. Monagle, Independent, 27
22. David Montgomery King, Independent, 6
23. Steve Nisky, Independent, 18
24. Glenn "Butcher" Brown, Independent, 18
25. Gosnel Matthew, Independent, 2

Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.
Publisher's note : Like the St. Croix Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice… click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.