73.1 F
Charlotte Amalie
Monday, February 6, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesGovernor Submits 6 Racing Commission Nominees

Governor Submits 6 Racing Commission Nominees

July 7, 2004 – Gov. Charles W. Turnbull has submitted to the Legislature his nominations of six individuals to serve on the V.I. Horse Racing Commission, a Wednesday Government House release stated.
The nominees are:
Leon D. Battiste for a three-year term, to fill a vacant St. Thomas seat.
Elton Chongasing to continue on the commission for another three-year term in a St. Thomas seat.
Louis A. Hassell Jr. for a three-year term, to succeed Elroy Harrison in a St. Croix seat.
Lindley Kennings to succeed Gilbert Comissiong in a St. Thomas seat.
Ira A. Petersen Sr. to succeed Angel M. Corneiro in a St. Thomas seat.
Norma Pickard-Samuel to succeed Garry Sprauve, currently vice chair of the commission, in a St. Thomas seat.

Publisher's note : Like the St. John Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.